Let’s Start the New Year Right

After spending the days leading up to the new year in Virginia Beach, Jon and I are back home and trying to settle into our normal routine. We had a great holiday with friends and family but I think I speak for both of us when I say we are looking forward to the calm.

With the new year comes the inevitable desire to make some changes and be better than the person you were the year before. I always struggle with whether or not to bother with new year’s resolutions. Why wait until January 1st to start making changes? But truth be told, there is just something about the idea of a brand new year that ignites a spark in me to really go after those things I always talk about. I was feeling a little overwhelmed when I first sat down to create my list of goals for this year – there are just so many things I want to accomplish and I have really high hopes for 2014 – but I took a deep breath and just focused on five big areas I want to improve.

resolutions

1. Do more of what makes me happy. This resolution is two fold. First, I need to truly figure out what makes me happy. I tend to want to do everything and many times end up doing what other people think I should rather than what I really enjoy. I want to take the time to discover myself and what really puts a smile on my face, and then do more of it!

2. Be kind to my body. Every year I always make it a goal to lose X amount of weight, workout so many days per week, eat this, don’t eat that. Rather than end up with a bunch of unaccomplished goals I am simply going to do my best to treat my body right. This means eating healthy food a majority of the time but not worrying if I eat a few too many Reese’s peanut butter cups. This means moving my body as much as possible by doing things that I enjoy. This means getting more sleep. This means loving my body no mater what size it is.

3. Don’t let fear get in the way. There are so many things that I stop myself from doing out of fear. Fear of failing. Fear of disappointing others. Fear of looking silly. I need to stop being so afraid and just put myself out there. I’m going to fail. I’m going to disappoint people. But if I don’t just go for it I may never know what I’m really capable of.

4. Disconnect. I will be the first to admit that I am way to attached to my iPhone. I’m so worried about missing out on something that happened in the virtual world that I completely miss out on real life going on right in front of me. (And yes, the fact that I am saying this as a write a blog post is not lost on me.) This year I really want to focus on stepping away from the computer/iPhone/iPad and just being in the moment.

5. Stop comparing myself to others. I unfortunately find myself doing this way too often and it’s completely silly. She is so much more fashionable than me. He works out 7 days a week! Look at the amazing house they live in. Everyone’s situation is completely different and it is pointless to be caught up in the comparison game. I just have to worry about doing the best with what I have.

What are your 2014 resolutions?

Leave a Reply

