¿Hablas Español?

This post was going to be all about our outing this past Sunday to the Wings game, but I realized that isn’t all that exciting to most of you. Sure, Jon and I had a great time and were able to cross something off our list, but it would have made for a super short post (and I totally forgot to take any pictures!). To sum it up: they lost in overtime to the Buffalo Bandits but I learned a whole lot about lacrosse in the process.

Instead, I thought I would talk about another goal of mine that I figured may be more appealing to anyone reading this and may even be a goal of yours too. I want to learn to speak Spanish. I took German for six years while I was in school and of course forgot every bit of it (aside from “Darf Ich auf die Toilette gehen?” or “May I go to the bathroom?”) because when on Earth do you have the opportunity to speak German on a regular basis? Spanish, on the other hand, the language I should have taken, is much more useful. So I’m making it my goal to learn more than the basics.

I didn’t want to shell out the big bucks for Rosetta Stone and did a little searching around the App Store to see what was available. I stumbled upon Duolingo while browsing through the featured Apps and was immediately eager to try it.

20140115-142436.jpg

20140115-143447.jpg

So far I have been loving it! I try to get on it for at least a few minutes every day. The first couple skill sets have been very basic vocabulary but there are tons of lessons and I have barely even scratched the surface of what it has to offer. Aside from Spanish you can also choose to learn German, French, Italian, Portuguese and English. There is also a desktop site but I’ve only used the App at this point.

So if you’re looking to learn a new language or simply brush up on one you already know, give Duolingo a try. And if you do, don’t forget to add me (username samposen) as a friend!

Leave a Reply

